Home > Moving Guides > Before Your Move > Insurance and Liability Coverage > What Is the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration?

What Is the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration?

3.5  3.5/5 based on 1354 visitor(s)
views  10,626 Views

What is FMCSA

Before and during your move, it is important to be aware of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, known as FMCSA. The FMCSA receives about 3,000 complaints in a year regarding unprofessional, unethical and unsafe business practices and operators.

The FMCSA is there to help monitor this type of dangerous activity, and it takes consumer protection very seriously.

Each year, approximately 35 million Americans move. Out of the 35 million people, around 600,000 people hire a moving company to help them move to their new home. Although most moving companies operate legally, there are some moving companies out there that are risky choices.

What is the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration?

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration is an agency that is a part of the United States Department of Transportation. It is responsible for regulating the carrier and trucking industry in the United States, including the vehicles your movers drive during your move. The FMSCA's main goal is to improve vehicle safety and prevent vehicle-related injuries and fatalities.

What does the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration do?

The FMCSA ensures that all trucks and carriers are safely operating by requiring that all motor carriers and moving companies register with them. Some moving companies may have to register with the FMCSA and the United States Department of Transportation as well.

In order to carry out reach safety standards, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration takes responsibility for the following:

  1. Writing out regulations and compliances that increase motor carrier safety and efficiency
  2. Educating drivers, carriers and the public about safety measures in place
  3. Providing commercial drivers licenses through programs
  4. Researching and analyzing road safety statistics
  5. Collaborating with local, federal and state enforcement agencies and motor carrier safety groups to minimize motor-related crashes

What is the "Protect Your Move" Program?

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration has a consumer protection program called "Protect Your Move." This is implemented in order to protect you while moving and prevent any fraudulent interstate moving issues.

In this program:

  • Consumers that will be moving are prepared to make informed and educated decisions when hiring moving companies. This prevents the consumer from being ripped-off or taken advantage of by movers that are frauds.
  • You receive access to information such as company safety data and certifications as well as the different types of safety precautions to take while moving.
  • They provide services and tools to help victims of unethical movers recover. FMCSA guides victims through:
    • Finding the best solutions for mover disputes
    • Filing fraud complaints
    • Taking things to court through arbitration and other legal steps

If you ever find yourself in any of these predicaments during your move, FMCSA is there to help ensure that you and your belongings are safe. They will do their best to bring you a resolution for any unfair hassles you experience.

How can you choose a mover through the FMCSA?

Choosing the right mover is something to take into heavy consideration. There are many moving businesses out there that are ready to take your money in exchange for terrible services.

Fortunately, there are many ways for you to be cautious. Here are some quick steps on how to pick a safe and trustworthy mover to get the job done:

  • FMCSA Operating Authority is a verification that means a company is trusted and meets all safety standards in the law. You can check this through the SAFER system.
  • USDOT registration is a number printed on the doors and rear of truck and is a way for the FMCSA to check audits, compliance reviews and recent inspections.

Did you know...?
In addition to granting MC permissions, the FMCSA also gives FF and MX operating authorities. An FF number is given to freight forwarders, and MX numbers are given to Mexican carriers that operate in US commercial zones.

Being confident when hiring a moving companybecomes easier when you ensure it is registered with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. The FMCSA will help make sure that your belongings are in the hands of a professional and honest company that practices proper highway safety.

Adam Mandelbaum  Posted by Adam Mandelbaum on October 11, 2018

Rate this guide What Is the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration?